About Us

Sido Kanhu Murmu University, formerly Siddhu Kanhu University, is a public university situated in the Santhal Parganas region of Jharkhand state in eastern India. It has its headquarters at Dumka, the second capital of Jharkhand.

The Statutory Framework.

The erstwhile Sido Kanhu University (S.K.U.), now rechristened Sido Kanhu Murmu University (S.K.M.U) was founded on 10th January 1992 by an act of Bihar Legislative Assembly.

The University came under the Government of Jharkhand when the new state of Jharkhand was formed in the year 2000. On May 31, 2007, the University was granted recognition by the University Grants Commission under section 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956.

The jurisdiction of the University extends over the six districts of Santhal Pargana where its 13 constituent and 9 permanently affiliated colleges are located.

It aims to grow further as a diverse and socially responsible centre of learning and research and provide high quality of scholarship and equal opportunity for all.


All Course

Find your perfect university Courses with our course guides – covering entry requirements, specializations, career prospects and more. Click on the listings below to find out about available Courses in your subject of interest.

  • All
  • Under Graduate
  • Post Graduate
  • Vocational Course

University Desk

Following the spirit of the legendry freedom fighters we shall endeavour to seek freedom from ignorance and exclusion within the jurisdiction of the University.

Prof.(Dr.) Sonajharia Minz

Vice Chancellor

Sido Kanhu Murmu University, Dumka

Contact Us

Our Address

Sido Kanhu Murmu University, Dighi Campus, Dumka - Pakur Road Dumka, Jharkhand - 814110

Email Us


Call Us